Sources only, no notice
Every source this assessment relies on is a public legal instrument or a public parliamentary record. No finding is adverse to any party: the assessment observes what instruments say and do not say. No notice was served before publication, and nothing in the document is a matter a party could correct from information this practice does not already hold.
The invitation stands in its place, and it does not expire. Any party who considers a passage misread - a provision, a submission, a report, or its own published material - is invited to say so at any time. Any correction received will be recorded, and where it bears on a finding it will be published, together with what the document said before it. The practice's notice protocol is unchanged and continues to apply to assessments carrying adverse findings about identifiable parties from register data.
What the claims rest on
Every claim carries a species, so a reader can see at a glance what kind of evidence it rests on. A quotation is the strongest; a nil return from a closed statutory list is next; a nil return from a document that does not purport to be exhaustive is weaker and is labelled at each use; an inference across provisions is stated as an inference at the point it is made. Three claims carry more than one species - C15, C26 and C30 each state one species for part of the claim and another for the rest - and the census counts each once, under the weaker of the two. And Quotation is the residual class: a claim is counted there when it is not marked as a nil return or an inference, not because the census has read it as a quotation.
Sources, with hashes
Pins are referenced, not moved. The archived blobs of the upstream rows live in the companion scoping case, whose manifest is the register of record. Its own SHA-256 is published here so the whole chain is checkable: 8cf52fa8687c3fb6a49065c912185193b712c427d20d44df5fc919cdffa93bd3 over 22 rows, of which the 12 below are relied on by this assessment. The remaining 10 were set aside as off-spine and carry no assertion in this document. Three further rows below, A-HCF-SP-1 to A-HCF-SP-3, are inherited from two other cases under convention 7; their blobs are held in those cases and each row states its origin, its capture and its re-verification.
| Ref | Source | URL | Retrieved (UTC) | Artefact | SHA-256 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L-HCF-1 | Hosting Certification Framework - Framework page. Zero occurrences of FOCI, model clause, ClauseBank, BuyICT, compel, foreign | https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/framework | 2026-08-11T08:01:24Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 392c48af4165878add31536228a0970966355d3f0068ed836598de6470a6a812 |
| L-HCF-2 | Hosting Certification Framework - home page. Same nil return on all six terms | https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/ | 2026-08-11T08:01:24Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 9a79df3cff16b1e44a4f70972eb315a9be804729cfe0fdb4da80c65ea55215ec |
| L-SOCI-1 | Security of Critical Infrastructure (Critical infrastructure risk management program) Rules (LIN 23/006) 2023, compilation in force 10 June 2026 - operative text | https://www.legislation.gov.au/F2023L00112/2026-06-10/2026-06-10/text/original/epub/OEBPS/document_1/document_1.html | 2026-08-11T08:13:14Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | fe8ce29ec7bd06a43faf37cf5d4d7e5113d28231c4e01cd0ed94c230eb54bba4 |
| L-SOCI-2 | Security of Critical Infrastructure Act 2018, Compilation No. 9, compilation date 4 June 2026, includes amendments Act No. 75 2025 - operative text | https://www.legislation.gov.au/C2018A00029/2026-06-04/2026-06-04/text/1/epub/OEBPS/document_1/document_1.html | 2026-08-11T08:25:02Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | f6a8dd06cbdeb355bf79b3ee800f26607ebdf213a18f1ba82184f79748cc6f18 |
| L-HCF-3 | Hosting Certification Framework - March 2021 v2, the operative framework document, 30 pages. Predates the insertion of SOCI s30AB by Act No 33 of 2022 | https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/sites/default/files/2021-11/Hosting%20Certification%20Framework%20-%20March%202021.v2.pdf | 2026-08-11T08:32:31Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 7b654f6e435bb90560701bf5e4905538f2da0cae73157ab4d58e710045855070 |
| L-EM-1 | Explanatory Memorandum, Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure Protection) Bill 2022 (Bill r6833) as introduced, 147 pages - paras 141-146 explain SOCI s30AB(4) | https://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/download/legislation/ems/r6833_ems_e948a334-98d0-4960-860d-f1d9622b2d53/upload_pdf/JC004947.pdf | 2026-08-11T08:40:04Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | d78dd825f9cdd0e49f1da5beed6c4c8ab5eb533bde3c2bf8ce0cb868af9dae0c |
| L-PJCIS-1 | PJCIS, Advisory report on the Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure) Bill 2020 and Statutory Review of the SOCI Act 2018, September 2021, ISBN 978-1-76092-296-2, 99 pages - the report the EM cites for recommendation 7 and paragraph 3.49 | https://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/download/committees/reportjnt/024715/toc_pdf/AdvisoryreportontheSecurityLegislationAmendment(CriticalInfrastructure)Bill2020andStatutoryReviewoftheSecurityofCriticalInfrastructureAct2018.pdf | 2026-08-11T08:47:00Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 7ee48c871801e73fda8720471aa62914cdbc2ae36f14c930ffca0a47f879721c |
| L-PJCIS-2 | PJCIS, Advisory report on the Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure Protection) Bill 2022, 103 pages - the inquiry into the Bill that inserted s30AB(4) | https://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/download/committees/reportjnt/024898/toc_pdf/AdvisoryreportontheSecurityLegislationAmendment(CriticalInfrastructureProtection)Bill2022.pdf | 2026-08-11T08:49:06Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | bb3dd022861e009cb5d58b6963bbcc5c15f8257db10a0385017b0dcac878ce0e |
| L-SUB-5 | PJCIS SLACIP Bill 2022 inquiry, Submission 5, listed as "macquarie Telecom Group", dated 24 February 2022, 11 pages. Sections 4 and 5 address the proposed s30AB(4) HCF exemption | https://www.aph.gov.au/DocumentStore.ashx?id=e5b33216-c7d1-408e-b7bc-920787df7ef9&subId=720407 | 2026-08-11T08:54:33Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 6cd812b83afa84b42ab8f12f0906b7040159806b07cc21047632a0076a596a17 |
| L-SUB-12 | PJCIS SLACIP Bill 2022 inquiry, Submission 12, UNSW Allens Hub for Technology, Law and Innovation, dated 1 March 2022, 7 pages. Contains no reference to the hosting certification framework | https://www.aph.gov.au/DocumentStore.ashx?id=66cf127e-2c40-46c9-885f-cb08d2c82ed1&subId=720494 | 2026-08-11T08:54:36Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | 9c55cd3c6ff1b45abcd92b9a495772471000507157f83443165569464416e8c3 |
| L-MAQ-1 | Australian Business Register, ABN Lookup historical details for ABN 72 056 712 228 - entity name history: MACQUARIE TECHNOLOGY GROUP LIMITED from 31 May 2023 (current), MACQUARIE TELECOM GROUP LIMITED 09 Dec 2004 to 31 May 2023 | https://abr.business.gov.au/AbnHistory/View?abn=72056712228 | 2026-08-11T10:46:45Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | f20b28a818d1d4f540dad3430759a3ac0397e9937f4242f2c8d006d6e221569a |
| L-HUB-1 | UNSW Allens Hub for Technology, Law and Innovation, home page - states the Hub operated from 1 November 2017 until 1 June 2024 | https://allenshub.unsw.edu.au/ | 2026-08-11T10:46:45Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | ee02dc67782a657ea0464b464cc054be0cd1d88f30de31524cbabe8daaa5bddb |
| A-HCF-SP-1 | Hosting Certification Framework, For Service Providers page, as served 5 August 2026, carrying under a heading naming the Security of Critical Infrastructure Act the sentence that HCF Strategic Certified providers are exempt from the RMP and are deemed to have fulfilled this requirement through the certification process [INHERITED CAPTURE, convention 7] Retrieved under attestation-survey-scoping-2026-08 on 2026-08-05T05:25:35Z as AT-HCF-3 and re-verified against its recorded hash on 2026-09-17. Origin stability: unmeasured. The blob is held in that case | https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/service-providers | 2026-08-05T05:25:35Z | Web page (raw HTML body) | becb270af231925cea25fdb1dde404a7c8b7a79100356a6fbd99f196b3a6940b |
| A-HCF-SP-2 | Hosting Certification Framework, For Service Providers page, Internet Archive capture of 20 October 2023 04:21:23 UTC, raw replay, carrying the same sentence [INHERITED CAPTURE, convention 7] Retrieved under certification-scope-2026-08 on 2026-08-27T07:32:28Z as SP-IA-20231020042123 and re-verified against its recorded hash on 2026-09-17. Origin stability: unmeasured. The blob is held in that case | https://web.archive.org/web/20231020042123id_/https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/service-providers | 2026-08-27T07:32:28Z | Internet Archive capture (raw replay) | ec7b819d9c01891697a46e9bc8ed9d277aaa3dac54eafefeef9c426d0914b479 |
| A-HCF-SP-3 | Hosting Certification Framework, For Service Providers page, Internet Archive capture of 4 March 2023 17:56:49 UTC, raw replay, without the sentence: the string Security of Critical Infrastructure occurs 0 times [INHERITED CAPTURE, convention 7] Retrieved under certification-scope-2026-08 on 2026-08-27T07:32:24Z as SP-IA-20230304175649 and re-verified against its recorded hash on 2026-09-17. Origin stability: unmeasured. The blob is held in that case | https://web.archive.org/web/20230304175649id_/https://www.hostingcertification.gov.au/service-providers | 2026-08-27T07:32:24Z | Internet Archive capture (raw replay) | a9b27db71fd795144a77999555d15f31110734d08a191e729abebf235fe95d56 |
How this was checked
| Step | What it guards against |
|---|---|
| Pre-insertion audit | No sentence entered the document until its assertions were verified against the pinned sources, working from the blobs rather than from the drafting notes, which share the drafter's blind spot. |
| Page images | Two quotations span a page break in their source. Both were read as rendered page images, because an extracted text layer is no authority for where a sentence breaks. |
| No ellipses | A quotation that elides a qualification is a misquotation. This document contains no ellipsis: where a source qualifies a proposition relied on, the qualification is quoted with it. |
| Guard placement | A limit on how a quotation may be read sits before the quotation, never after. Checked mechanically against a declared list. |
| Adversity audit | Every sentence naming a party classified adverse, neutral or favourable before publication. The adverse column is empty. |
| Counts recomputed | Every stated count was recomputed from its source at freeze, not grepped for. |
| Freeze gate | The rebuilt PDF, the committed PDF, the hash on this page and the attestation record must be identical, and the build epoch must resolve to the date it claims. |
How this record is verified
Verification chain: archival. Every source this assessment relies on was captured at retrieval and is pinned by SHA-256 in a register held by the practice. A reader can recompute any published source hash against the artefact and against the live source. Where the two differ, the source has changed since capture and the capture is what the assessment read.
What this assessment cannot establish
No report made under Part 2AA of the Security of Critical Infrastructure Act 2018 has been read, and none can be from public sources. This assessment compares what instruments require. It does not, and cannot, compare what is done. Every observation is as at the capture dates in the register above. A source that has changed since its capture has not made the observation wrong; it has made it historical, and this practice would record that.
Versions, with hashes
A revision does not replace its predecessor. Each superseded version's bytes are unchanged, its hash still resolves, and its file remains downloadable at its own address. Recompute any of them with shasum -a 256.
| Version | Published | Status | File | SHA-256 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.2 | 17 September 2026 | Current · served: own record · see Corrections | AOS-HCE-2026-001-v1.2.pdf | 660e026258b97b7caafa67586cbe1e883b670f3ee7e8995515c07516f61faff0 |
| 1.1 | 12 August 2026 | Superseded, not withdrawn · served: own record | AOS-HCE-2026-001.pdf | f4ad8bb3e087cccf7c0a4fe3e6b973df4caacbf1531eb1e36f32541b12c22484 |
| 1.0 | 11 August 2026 | Superseded, not withdrawn · served: own record | AOS-HCE-2026-001-v1.0.pdf | b5c92e53d381ba5f63c181111d473fb88f8b57fb224e5d9321bd3cb4be413b6f |
What changed in v1.2, and why
v1.2 withdraws four sentences that were false when written and rewrites the two recommendations and the claim that rested on them. No finding moves: the finding that the compellability question is confined to nine asset classes and does not reach the class holding government data, the reading of section 30AB(4), the Part 2AA substitution and the declaration route are untouched. Found by this practice on 17 September 2026, reading the pages the case had not read against the document's own falsifier; not by any external party. Versions 1.0 and 1.1 stand at their own hashes. The PDF's Corrections section, page 34, carries the same text.
| Where | What changed | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Section 9, claim line | Withdrawn: "The framework's published material does not disclose the effect of strategic-level certification on the application of Part 2A, and the dates explain part of that silence." Now: the operative document does not disclose it and the dates explain that silence entirely; one page of the scheme's site states an exemption in terms the Act does not use, and the dates explain nothing about it | The For Service Providers page, quoted in Section 9, states the relationship; it was not among the three artefacts read |
| Section 9, the Analysis | Withdrawn: "A provider reading the framework's published material learns what certification requires. It does not learn that certification bears on the application of a Part of the Act." Now: what a reader of the three artefacts read learns, and what a reader of the For Service Providers page learns and does not learn | As above |
| Recommendation 7 | Withdrawn: "The scheme's published material does not state the relationship between certification and Part 2A. What would resolve it is a sentence on the scheme's published pages, or in the reformed framework, stating the effect of a strategic-level certificate on the application of Part 2A." Now: the recommendation asks that the effect be stated in the Act's terms, at the asset, under section 30AB(4)'s conditions, with the Part 2AA report beside it | The sentence the recommendation asked for exists and is not the sentence it described: it states a provider-level exemption from the risk management program, characterised as deemed compliance, and none of those |
| Recommendation 3 | Withdrawn: "The framework's published material states a posture of conjunction and does not state what certification now does to the application of Part 2A." Now: the divergence is between the March 2021 document, which states conjunction, and a live page, which states an exemption; the ask is unchanged | The recommendation was premised on a divergence, and a divergence exists; the published premise named the wrong one |
| Section 10 and Section 11, rows 3 and 7 | The falsifier row kept and marked as fired on 17 September 2026; rows 3 and 7 restated to what is now not established | The document's own falsifier fired; the record of its firing stays in the document |
| The register | Three rows inherited under convention 7: the page as served 5 August 2026, the Internet Archive capture of 20 October 2023 carrying the passage, and the capture of 4 March 2023 without it | The correction rests on those three captures, each held by a companion case before v1.0 published |
What changed in v1.1, and why
v1.1 is an addition, not a correction. Nothing in v1.0 is withdrawn, corrected or qualified; no finding moves and no count moves. Two paragraphs of the explanatory memorandum to the Bill that inserted section 30AB enter the document. Both were found while v1.0 was drafted, deliberately excluded from it because a new claim goes through the audit rather than through the prose, and audited before insertion.
| Where | What changed | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Section 4 | A subsection added before Recommendation 2, quoting paragraph 131 and the ten classes it proposed | The memorandum places the class holding government data in the same group as electricity, gas, water and liquid fuels - the group for which arrangements were not already sufficient. It supports the premise of Recommendation 2, and is guarded as bounded to the Bill's introduction |
| Section 7 | A subsection added after the subsection on paragraph 139, quoting paragraph 130 | The memorandum describes subsection (1) as an "on switch" serving one purpose. It gives the construction a purposive support it did not have. The construction remains contestable and the second limb remains conditional |
| Contestable steps | Neither changed | Both additions are extrinsic material and neither settles anything. Explanatory material supporting a construction is not the construction being settled |
Assessment PDF
The attested assessment is the signed PDF. Its SHA-256 is published below.